Dinner conversation

As you may have heard, Jack starts pre-k tomorrow.  As we (the kids and I, Jeff's traveling) sat down for dinner tonight I started the required night before school conversation.  I asked him what he was excited about.  "Learning" was his response.  But that's not what got me.  
"So, Jack, is there anything you're nervous about?"
That's when his lip started quivering.  "Being in the classroom alone."  (Remember I went with him last time.) 
"Oh, why is that?"  I asked.
"Because I've never been to school before."  Lip still quivering, eyes glistening.  Then, "I don't want to talk anymore."
Somehow I mangaged to keep it together.  We'll see if I can say the same thing tomorrow.

One thought on “Dinner conversation

Leave a Reply

