Solitude


As a wife and stay-at-home mom to three small children, I rarely have time to be all alone.  That goes with the territory and I

One thing that I’ve recently realized, though, is that when I am alone and have some quiet time, I always fill the quiet.  Usually, this is literal.  The radio is almost always on.  Sometimes, I use the time to veg in front of the t.v. (usually dissatisfied by what I find on).   Other times, filling the quiet is more figurative.  I fill it by hopping online to check e-mail, blogs and facebook.  Or, I curl up with a book.  Of course, none of these are  “wrong.”

But.

There is something to be said about being quiet.  Still.  Not filling the void with noise.  Only then can I focus my thoughts, calm my heart and mind and hear His still, small voice.

So, this weekend as the children napped and J was at work, I turned it all off.  I was still doing dishes and cleaning up (which may be missing the point a bit, but it’s a start).

I hope to take time each day to be still.  To calm myself.  To let my mind wander.  To be ready to listen when He has something to say.

One thought on “Solitude

  1. Pingback: A Matter of Perspective « Mama and More

Leave a Reply

