Spring Break Recap

It's hard to believe that we're already nearly done with the first post-spring break week.  For not having a ton of plans, our week ended up being pretty busy.  Of course, now I can't even really remember what all we did. 
Much of the time was spent working on the house and yard.  Jeff made good progress on the raised beds and bought two whiskey barrels for our lettuce and herbs.  The seeds that we ordered a few weeks ago arrived and I can't wait to get them in soil.  Some will have to wait until May, others will start inside soon.  I think we'll try some that are cold/cool tolerant (broccoli, kale, spinach, etc) in the next couple of weeks. 
We celebrated St. Patrick's day with a breakfast of green waffles and green milk (not a hit with the kids, by the way). 

One of the moms from school planned a playdate at a park for that morning.  It was great for the kids to play and for me to talk with the other parents.  In the spirit of St. Patrick's Day, I prepped Baked Doughnuts that I'd seen on The Artful Parent Monday night and baked them before the playdate.  They were YUMMY and I highly recommend the recipe. 

There were shoe tying lessons.

Lots of outdoor play, helping build, digging in the dirt, and errands.
My big project was painting the living room.  I'd been going round and round trying to decide what color of green to choose.  I. just. couldn't. decide.  So, Nester sang the praises of Svelte Sage I knew I had my color.  Silly, maybe.  But,  it was one I'd looked before and it ended the crazy struggle.  And, I really like it. 
I'm still looking for curtains and a few more accessories (like a bench or ottoman for between the windows) but here's what it looks like. 


I wish I had a good before that captured the lovely 1981 brown trim, but I don't.  Use your imagination.
So, Spring Break 2009 didn't include any fancy trips but the weather was beautiful, we enjoyed our time together as a family and even checked a few to-dos off the list.

Leave a Reply

