Sunflowers

Yesterday, I picked up some sunflowers to brighten the house a bit.  I put some in the living room and this one on the window sill in the kitchen in hopes of lifting my spirits while the kids and I fought a summer cold.

It worked.  At least a bit.

But something strange happened also.  I kept getting the urge to draw it.  Now, I’m not a drawer.  I don’t even like drawing things for the kids because I never thought I was very good.

But that urge persisted.  And I thought about an interview I heard on NPR with Mo Willems (you can find it here).  So, I decided to go for it.  I didn’t spend a ton of time on it but I took the time and drew.

And I ended up with this:

(Excuse the scan, I wasn’t sure of the best way to get it on here. )

But I ended up with something else that made me even happier.

You see, while I was drawing, Morgan came up stairs and asked what I was doing.  She wanted to draw the sunflower too.  So she did.  Then Jack saw what she was doing and he also wanted to join in.

I think Mo Willems was onto something.

Leave a Reply

