From Garden to Kitchen

tom mosaic
This week I made Pomodori al Forno with Romas from our garden.  And I must say, make this today.  I saw the recipe on Molly's blog. When I saw the recipe was originally from another Molly I knew I had to try it. (Have I mentioned how much I love her book?)
Anyway, I had all of the ingredients and got busy.  My plan was to keep some in the fridge to use for Red Pesto Ravioli and freeze the rest, as Molly I. suggested. 
While it does take a while for them to bake, the actual hands on time is minimal.  And they smell delicious as they spend their time in the oven.  In fact, when we got home from picking Jack up from school he said, "it smells like pizza in here."
He was right. 
I didn't have any intention of making the appetizer that the recipe is actually for.  However, as I was making the pesto, I found myself with a few tomatoes that weren't used, some goat cheese and bread.  
Oh. my. word. 
I have a new favorite appetizer. 
Again, make this today!   
So, now I have one jar in the freezer and I'm waiting to have enough ripe romas to make another batch (or five).  I'm pretty sure my book club ladies will be enjoy this in a few weeks.   In fact, J and I might be enjoying this tonight.

PS.  The Ravioli was delicious also!  The original recipe calls for sun dried tomatoes that are not in oil so start sparingly with the oil and add as needed.

Leave a Reply

