A Matter of Perspective

Or, what a difference a day makes. 
Yesterday was one of those days when I was done.  Tired.  Frustrated.  Bitter.  If you can think of an unhappy word, I likely felt it yesterday.  And really, I think it’s been building up.
 Life sometimes gets so busy and my priorities get out of whack.  I get bogged down by e-mail, housework, saying “yes” when I probably should say “no”.  Sometimes, I get stubborn and don’t take the time I need to relax, rest, be.  You know, because “good moms” don’t need a break.  Right? 
The result is a day like yesterday. 
Finally, towards the end of the day, I gave in.  I let go.  Even though there was laundry to put away and things to pick up, the kids and I went outside.  Almost instantly, my mood shifted.  And later, after the children were tucked in bed (and J was watching football) I relaxed and caught up on the latest Bon Appetit rather than surfing the net or watching a show I’m only semi-interested. 
The fresh air.  The laughter.  Stepping away.  The quiet.  It was all medicine for my soul.
I felt relaxed, refreshed and recharged. 
So I started thinking about how I prevent these crashes in the future.  Sometimes, it’s so easy to think that everyone else’s lives are perfect and harmonious.  One reason I love reading blogs is to get a glimpse of beauty in other people’s lives.  But really, it’s only a glimpse.  Those lives are also full of dirty laundry, grouchy family members, crumbs on the floor, mile long to-do lists, fears and sadness.   
And yet, there is also the beauty.  It’s all a matter of perspective. 
So, I will enjoy the way the sunlight dances on crystal as I empty the dishwasher.

I will sit with the kids on the couch and watch the sunrise. 
 
I will kiss the dirty faces before I wash them. 

I will turn of the computer, say “no”, and take time to be.  (As I was reminded a few months ago.)
And, I’ll remember to be thankful for the life I have.  It may not always be pretty, easy or fun but, with the right perspective, it is always beautiful.

Leave a Reply

