Finding the Cheer


Christmas is normally my favorite time of year.  I love decorating, songs, giving, and anticipation building up to the most important birthday celebration of the year. 
This year, though, I've found myself in a funk.  I've been fighting a nasty cold for about 10 days and those days have found me either napping or wishing I was napping most of the time.  I've been a grumpy wife and mom.  I'm behind on nearly everything. 
Basically, it hasn't been such a great season. 
But, it's not over.  The kids are home for two weeks, Christmas is in three (YIKES!!!)  days, and we're expecting snow.  While I still don't feel 100 percent I'm ready to get on with it and enjoy this magical time.
The kids' anticipation level is at an all-time high. 
We've visited reindeer.  While there, Jack asked if they were the ones that fly. 
Last night they were talking about how they were going to wake us up first thing in the morning to open stockings. 
And yet, they know that it is all about celebrating Jesus.

So, today I'll crank up the Christmas music, bake cookies with the kids and wrap some presents.  Hopefully, when the day is done and the kids are tucked in Jeff and I will cuddle by the tree with a glass of wine and talk about the year that is nearly over and all that is to come. 
I'm sure by then I will have found the cheer once again.

Leave a Reply

