Comfort and Joy


As I sit on the cusp of a new year I can't help but be thankful.  I know 2009 has been hard for many but for me, and my family, it's been good.  And, definitely better (or at least "easier")  than 2008.  As I think about the decade I'm simply in awe.  The past 10 years have been quite a ride and it feels like yesterday that I was sitting in our little house on Guam watching the year 2000 roll in across the world. 
Our Christmas was one of the best in recent memory.  This was due in large part to the great anticipation and excitement the kids had for the whole season.  Once Christmas eve arrived and we'd eaten our traditional lasagna dinner, gone to church, and come home they could hardly contain themselves.  This continued on through Christmas morning and the rest of the day as we headed down to be with my grandpa. 
Christmas has always been a favorite time of year.  However, since I got married, moved away and had kids I've strugged with living up to the wonderful memories. 
Making Christmas magical is hard work.  
In year's past I've always been let down.  But, this year, was so fun and wonderful.
For all of us.
Don't get me wrong, I still miss being with my family but I found, this year, that letting go of expectations and all that has to be done   plays a huge role in the magic, and blessing, of Christmas. 
So, I didn't send out Christmas cards or buy gifts for everyone.  But, we did help families in need and Skype with our loved ones.  We focused on the anticipation of celebrating Jesus' birth day by day.  When Christmas came, it was the icing on the cake.
This past week has felt like a giant exhale.  We've all had time to relax, play games and be together.  It's been invaluable as I can't remember a time like this during the holidays since Jeff and I left Turkey six years ago. 
Lots of thoughts and ideas are spinning around for 2010.  Goals and such are coming soon.
For now, I'll relish the memory of our celebration a few hours ago and dream of all that is to come.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

