2011

Through the looking glass

I don’t know what it is about this image but I keep coming back to it.  It’s one I took toward the end of December during Picture the Holidays.  The prompt was “through the looking glass.”  Does anyone else see a heart in the middle?  I guess something about this image reminds me of my One Little Word for 2011.

Intentional.

2010 was challenging in many ways and as I look back I feel like I just let life happen to me.  I wasn’t proactive, I was reactive.  I didn’t really think about commitments before I took them on.  I treaded water, if I was lucky.  I was overwhelmed, tired, and too busy.

This isn’t how I want to live.  I want to carefully choose how I spend my time and what commitments I make.  I want to be aware of and make decisions about what I eat, how I spend our money, who I spend time with focus and thought.

I’m off to a good start as I’ve let go of (or am in the process) on virtually all of my long-term commitments.   I’ve decided that this is my sabbitcal year.  A year to re-group, spend time with my family (including a husband I haven’t seen in nearly six months who will be home soon), and explore things that interest me.

Life has been so intense during this period of having three very young children.  Now, they’re a bit older and things are shifting.  It’s time to regroup.

I’m so excited about what is ahead.

I do have a few other more definitive goals:

*Read 52 books in 52 weeks

*Complete a 365 project, one picture a day for the entire year.  Last year was a flop.  I’m hoping for success this year.

*Drive less.  I’m hoping for at least 2 days a week that I don’t drive my car at all.  It’s not a lot but it’s a start.

*Run.  Again, I started strong in the spring and then it tapered off while we were in Washington.  Once Jeff gets back I want to get back out there and finish a race this spring or summer.

2 thoughts on “2011

  1. Pingback: Five Weeks In « Mama and More

Leave a Reply

