Four Books Two Ways

Book wreath
One of my goals for 2011 is to read 52 books in 52 weeks.  I love reading but it has often taken a (rightful) backseat to other things in my life.  Now, things have settled a bit and the kids are a little older.  This seems like a realistic goal.

I’m off to a good start.  So far I’ve finished two books and am 75% done with a third.  It feels good.  They are:

Comfort and Joy by Kristin Hannah, an easy read that I finished in one “sick” day.

Still Life with Chickens by Catherine Goldhammer, Loved it!  The beginning of my “farm lit”

The Dirty Life:  On Farming, Food and Love by Kristin Kimball.  This is the one I’m just finishing but again, I love it!  We are dreaming big around here and this fits right in.

The fourth book in my recent past turned into a wreath. I didn’t sacrifice the next great novel for this project but used a “chick lit” book I had on hand. It turned out beautifully though I haven’t been able to get a great picture.  While some may find a project like this offensive, I found it heartwarming.  I love books and its great to see one on my wall.
I’m also well on my way with another goal, 365.  I’ve missed a day already but that’s ok.  I’m working on giving myself grace.   I won’t post all of the photos here but you can find them on my Flickr.

Finally, my heart has been heavy for Joanne this week. She is a 38 wife and mom of two who suffered a massive stroke on Tuesday.  There are just no words for what their family is enduring right now.  Please pray!

Leave a Reply

