Five Weeks In

Next on the list

Five weeks of 2011 are already history.  Seriously?  Time is flying.

It seemed like a good time for an update on my goals for the year.
I've read two more books (Radical and Made to Crave).  I'm also nearly finished with One Thousand Gifts.  So, that makes five and a half books in five weeks.
Not too shabby.
I have to say that all three are great books but One Thousand Gifts is simply stunning.  I've been recommending it to friends but find my self struggling to find adequate words to describe it.  Ann's writing is like poetry and her heart is beautiful. Check out her blog to get an idea of who she is.
The stack above are some of the next books on my list. It is hard to know where to begin especially since some of these I've had since the summer (or earlier!). I think I may start with "Grow Great Grub" and "Keeping Chickens" (did I mention we're getting chickens this Spring?) as they are not only library books but relatively quick reads. We have some busy days coming up and a homecoming to celebrate so I won't have quite as much time to read.
At least for a while.
My 365 is also going well.  I've missed a few days and am okay with that.  I'm trying to enjoy it and use it as a tool to document my days.  I don't want to become a slave to it.
So that's what's going on.  No running yet.  I have been using the Wii Fit and am enjoying that.  The running will come soon.
Oh, and the driving.  I've been trying.  It hasn't gone as well as I'd like.  Much of that is due to weather but some is simply due to lack of planning.
Thankfully, the year is young.

4 thoughts on “Five Weeks In

  1. I’m a bit jealous of your pile of books and VERY jealous of your chickens. (Jealous in a friendly sort of way.) I only read children’s books and my Bible these days, and my husband likes chickens to be kept far, far away. It was either him or the chickens. He won. 🙂
    By the way, you were the final straw for convincing me to buy Ann’s book. I keep trying to win it (ha ha), but might actually have to pay real money. Thanks for letting me know it’s worth it. 🙂

  2. One advantage of having hubby gone in Iraq is lots of free time for reading in the evenings. Thankfully, my reading time will be diminishing soon. 🙂
    As far as the chickens, you can live vicariously through me. I’m sure I’ll have lots of pictures (and hopefully words) to share about “the girls”.
    You won’t regret buying Ann’s book. It is definitely one to read again and again. Let me know what you think!

  3. I’m so impressed with your reading. I have an aim to read a book a month which is much more realistic for me 🙂 I love to read though so will have to look at some of your recommendations.

  4. I’m such a reading buff but don’t always have the time. We’ll see how it goes once my hubby gets home. Thanks for stopping by and let me know if you read any of the books I’ve mentioned. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

