Reluctant

Sunset June 28
To be honest, I'm a reluctant military wife.  That makes us, to some extent, a reluctant military family.
Sure, Jeff was active duty when I married him (in fact, he had already committed to enlistment when we started dating so many years ago).  And still, I never really thought we'd be a "military family."
In many ways we aren't.   We don't usually live on base.  I don't belong to spouses groups.  We rarely attend parties, galas, and other functions.  We have few military friends.
Don't get me wrong.
I am immensely proud and thankful of Jeff, his career and those of all our Armed Forces.  I'm happy to attend those functions and do the "military wife" thing.
It is just not what I imagined.  Or, ultimately, what we hope for.
I never imagined I would live so far away from my extended family.  Or move so many times.  Always, right when we're starting to get settled.
We dream of a life of chasing chickens, growing veggies and feeding the poor (my man has some plans).  
Yet, this is where we are.
Reluctantly.
We embark on this new stage, another move, more transition and huge adventure.
Italy.
Yet, a piece of me is yearning to stay here in Colorado with my friends, our church, the kids' school, our chickens and so much more.
I must embrace this adventure and opportunity all the while dreaming of a day when we have our forever house (maybe?!), chickens, family nearby, and a way to serve the poor.
For now my attitude must be to embrace la vita bella (the good life) especially when it isn't what you thought it would be.

One thought on “Reluctant

  1. Beth, it seems like you guys should be almost done. Wasn’t Jeff in Basic Training while we were still in High School? I guess I just answered my own question 🙂 So if my math is correct this should be your last tour right? I feel your pain, but it will be over soon enough and you and your children will be stronger for it and at least your munchkins will be young and they will be settled by the time Jeff is retired. We have about 8 years left and probably 2 more duty stations. I wish we had Italy as an option. I know it doesn’t feel like it, but this is an amazing opportunity and I know you will take it in stride once it happens. I wish you the best and I will pray for your patience and endurance. You are amazing and it is ok to be a reluctant Military Wife, you are entitled to it every now and again 🙂

Leave a Reply

