Recently in our Kitchen

I know I've had a lot of kitchen related posts but as the head chef for a family of five much of my life is spent in the kitchen.  That continues to be even more true as grow in our whole food diet.  I really do have more to share and that is coming soon but I thought I would pass on a bit of what has been happening in our kitchen.

So, what we've been up to includes:

* Whole Grain Bread from Cynthia Lair's Feeding the Whole Family. This has become the bread we live on.

Roasted Garbanzos

* Carrot Tomato Soup

* Butternut Squash Apple Soup (I subbed sweet potatoes and it was delish.)

* Whole Wheat Muffins

There are many more but those will come in time.  

I also wanted to updated on our "Real Food Challenge". I'll be honest, we made it 100% for five days.   Then I broke in order to enjoy a wonderful, long awaited date day with the hubs.  I had wine and white flour and I'm totally ok with that.  Jeff and I have "debriefed" throughout the first few days of this project and we've realized that overall we're very much okay with where we are.  I'm just not going to worry about the sugar in ketchup as we eat very little anyway. (Though I would love to make my own.)

The two areas that have come to our attention for our family are crackers and cereal.  The products we bought in these categories, though considered "healthy", are still full of junk.  We are working to eliminate them. I have also realized what an obscene amount of coffee I've been drinking.  Actually, I knew but it was my early morning comfort.  Strong and warm, that's what I've turned to at five in the morning.  I've found a Yogi Green Tea that I really enjoy and will be drinking that from now on (with the occasional coffee). So, while we didn't finish the actual 10 days, I feel totally ok with what we've done.  Jeff's on board for the few changes ahead as are the kids.

So here we go.

One thought on “Recently in our Kitchen

  1. Beth, I just have to say I am loving your blog lately. I have always enjoyed it, but you have been inspiring me more and more with your great kitchen ideas. Thanks for the time you put into it. BTW, I am totally looking forward to that workshop in February. I hope you are enjoying Italy. We are headed off to another adventure soon ourselves.

Leave a Reply

