Looking Ahead

Today, Jeff is exactly three years away from being retirement eligible.  

As one who has been along for every day of the past 17 year-long ride let me just say that is unbelievable, and scary.  We haven't known anything else but the Air Force.

Yet, we are definitely ready to move on.  As I keep saying, we're done.  

The thing is, it seems many people who are in our same position aren't sure what they will do and want to cling to this life.  That is fine. But us, we are ready to move on.  

We are dreaming of life in the country(ish), near family, in the northwest.  We hope to farm and through that help feed those who have less than we do.  

While we certainly have responsibilities and plans we hope to not fall into the "live to work" trap that is so prevalent  right now. All of that leaves us in a place of extreme contemplation, planning and next step taking.

And it leaves me back in school.  Yes, I can hardly believe it myself.  

I've enrolled in the Canadian School of Natural Nutrition and within two years will be a Registered Holistic Nutritionist.

Before I go further, let me share how I came to this choice. I believe that food is life.  While it is a cliche, I think it really is true that we are what we eat.  It we eat junk, we will feel junky.  Of course, the opposite is also true. As a society, we spend more time on leisure activities, media in particular, than we do preparing our life-giving meals. Almost all of our chronic diseases are preventable (dare I say curable) and yet most people choose to treat them with pills rather than make dietary/lifestyle changes.  I don't think we have to be as "sick" as we are and the solution does not have to be complicated. But most importantly, I think most people are completely overwhelmed at the idea of "whole foods."  They really have no idea where to start or what to do.  

We are busy with work, school, kids…life.

And, yet.

This is so important. Look, I certainly am not perfect.  We don't eat "perfectly."  I don't exercise enough and still could stand to lose a few pounds (though I think it's a lie that skinny equals healthy.  Many thin people have just as many health problems as those who are overweight.  They just aren't the same problems).  I'm working on it.

And that's just the thing. When all is said and done and I go to "work".  I don't want it to be in a judgemental, expecting perfection way.  I want to help make living a healthy, full, satisfied less complicated.  To show working parents that it is possible to cook fresh, whole foods that their kids will eat.  Rather than standing on a pedestal of condemnation (as it seems many do), I want to walk side by side with people (maybe through our farm, in home kitchens or even visits to the local grocery store) and show them how to do these things.  It seems to me that there is a world of direction and not much instruction.

To be honest, I'm not sure exactly what it will look like once I'm done with school but I'm so excited.  

We're moving one step closer to that switch to civilian life. It's not going to be easy but I know it will be so worth it.

4 thoughts on “Looking Ahead

  1. Love it! Chris also has a degree in Nutrition, and it has shaped our choices in so many ways. Good luck with getting your new career off the ground!! 🙂

  2. Your outlook to accept all the difference in people is in such a great need. We always need to remember that each of us have different needs and that what works for me may not work for you. I love that you are so open to that and want to build on that is awesome!

  3. Thanks Mom! I’m trying, it’s not always easy but I’m trying. 🙂 Love you!

Leave a Reply

