On My Nightstand

On my nightstand recently.

One of my favorite things to do is spend hours deep in a good book.  

These days my expectations are even higher as I spend so much time reading for school that my leisure reading time is limited.  So, I'm that person at the library that requests every book recommended to her and gives them a try.  

Some are hits and some, like The Paris Wife are misses.  It came highly recommend and I felt like I should love it.  But 100 pages in I was still forcing myself to read it.

I closed it and turned it in.

Some recents hits are:

Let's Take the Long Way Home  This is the one I picked up right after I gave up on The Paris Wife and I'm finding myself having to force myself to put it away so that I can get enough sleep. I'm only 3 or so days into it and almost done.  Such a wonderful memoir of friendship.

Love Does This is another memoir type book full of stories of how Bob Goff lives out his faith in practical ways.  So often I find myself frustrated with the church as a whole and books like this give me hope that not everyone has lost touch with who Jesus really is and what it looks like to live like He did.

An Everlasting Meal This one also came highly recommended.  The writing is beautiful and the kitchen inspiration is amazing.  I'm working through this one slowly with pencil in hand.

Then there's Taproot.  Have you seen it?  This is a magazine that one of my favorite bloggers, Amanda Soule of Soulemama, co-founded.  It's such a breath of fresh air.  Last I heard you can find it at Whole Foods stores nationwide (or subscribe, like I did.)

Next up, Lots of Candles, Plenty of Cake, by Anna Quindlen.  Yes, another memoir.  I also have requests in at the library for Yes, Chef by Marcus Samuelsson (yet another memoir) and The Unhealthy Truth by Robin O'Bryan (about the influences of our country's food supply).

What are you reading these days?

3 thoughts on “On My Nightstand

  1. Sounds like you and I have similar tastes in books: These all sound wonderful! Going to stop by my library today to pick up Anna Quindlen’s. Bummed to find out my library only has the audio version of Marcus Samuelsson’s—LOVE him. I’ll have to place a hold on An Everlasting Meal—it’s checked out.

  2. I agree, we definitely have the same taste in books. I’ve always loved the books you’ve recommended. Did you know Marcus S is adopted? Another reason you might really enjoy his memoir. I hope you can find it in book form.

Leave a comment